Weather News

Former RMetS President Honoured as International Meteorological Organization Prize Laureate

Former RMetS President Honoured as International Meteorological Organization Prize Laureate


01 July 2024

Professor Timothy Palmer HonFRMetS has been honoured for his pioneering contributions to weather forecasting and climate prediction at a ceremony celebrating the World Meteorological Organization’s (WMO) leading prize.

The IMO Prize (named after WMO’s predecessor, the International Meteorological Organization) is the equivalent of a Nobel Prize for meteorologists. Established in 1955, it symbolises the advancements that have been made in meteorology over the years. 

In his acceptance speech, the former president of the Royal Meteorological Society spoke about his role in the development of probabilistic ensemble prediction methods for forecasting on all timescales. He also highlighted how artificial intelligence has the potential to change weather forecasts, and long-term climate predictions.

“Timothy Palmer has demonstrated remarkable qualities over the years. His scientific ideas, skills, and abilities have had, and continue to have, a huge impact on the weather and climate fields,” said WMO Secretary-General, Celeste Saulo.

Professor Palmer was President of the Royal Meteorological Society from 2010 to 2012; a role that he considered a “wonderful honour”. Prof. Palmer also noted, “Looking at my predecessors in the role is to literally look at a Who’s Who of UK meteorology. Being President was an extraordinarily varied and interesting job.”

In 2019, Prof Palmer was awarded honorary fellowship to the Society for revolutionising weather and climate prediction, challenging old ideas, and changing the way the field is viewed by the public, meteorological community and scientists in other disciplines.

“If it were not for Professor Palmer’s influence, the field of prediction would perhaps be at least a decade behind, perhaps a generation, from where we now find ourselves.” said Meteorologist and Climate Dynamicist, Professor Peter Webster HonFRMetS.

Read the full article at

IMO Award Ceremony (from left to right): Ko Barrett, WMO Deputy Secretary-General; Ambassador Simon Manley, Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Geneva; Prof. Timothy Palmer; Prof. Celeste Saulo, WMO Secretary-General; Dr Abdulla Al Mandous, WMO President; and Thomas Asare, WMO Assistant Secretary-General | © WMO

1 July 2024

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.